New Artists of the Nation in 2020

The assignment of the Artist of the Nation Awards is decided upon by the Artist of the
Nation Award Committee consisting of eleven artists with the Kossuth State Awards. The award is given to provide appropriate living conditions for personalities with high artistic accomplishment and reputation.
On the initiative of the MMA the Hungarian Parliament established the Artist of the
Nation Awards in 2013. 
The Artist of the Nation Award Committee has given the Artist of the Nation Award to eleven Hungarian artists in 2020:
ERVIN NAGY architect
ISTVÁN DÁRDAY film director
ZSUZSA PÉRELI textile artist, ceramicist, restorer
GÉZA BEREMÉNYI writer, screenwriter, director
ÁDÁM FARKAS sculptor
MIKLÓS KOVÁCS blue paint painter
In 2020 the Artist of the Nation Award Committee consist of: István Ferencz, chairman of the committee, interior designer, architect, Artist of the Nation, regular member of HAA; members invited by the Minister for Culture: painter János Aknay, regular member of HAA, president of the National Association of Hungarian Artists; actor Károly Eperjes, corresponding member of HAA, eternal member of the Society of the Immortals; members invited by the Chairman of the Committee: Ferenc Buda, poet, translator, regular member of HAA, Artist of the Nation; Architect József Finta, regular member of HAA, Artist of the Nation; Líviusz Gyulai, graphic artist, regular member of HAA, Artist of the Nation; ballet artist János Kiss, corresponding member of HAA; Péter Korniss, photographer, Artist of the Nation; actress Anna Kubik, regular member of HAA; conductor Ádám Medveczky, regular member of HAA; Ferenc Sebő musician, folk music researcher, corresponding member of HAA, Artist of the Nation.
Scheduled for 5 November – which is the birthday of the public body of HAA –, the 7th Artist of the Nation Award ceremony has been postponed by HAA in view of the development of the epidemic situation. The ceremony is to be held at a later time – when the health situation allows – under proper conditions.

Two members of the Committee are requested by the minister for culture, while eight of them
are called upon by the chair of the Committee for the maximum of three years. The
awarded persons are given an official document on the assignment, entitled to bear the
title and receive an annuity from the month following the awarding ceremony. The
monthly sum of the annuity is twenty-three times the minimal sum of the old age pension.
The Kossuth State Award and being at least 65 years old are basic requirements. The title
can only be borne by seventy persons at the same time.
2020. november 11.