New Artists of the Nation in 2020

The assignment of the Artist of the Nation Awards is decided upon by the Artist of the
Nation Award Committee consisting of eleven artists with the Kossuth State Awards. The award is given to provide appropriate living conditions for personalities with high artistic accomplishment and reputation.
November 11, 2020

István Csukás passed away

Famous tale-writer, poet and Artist of the Nation, István Csukás passed away on 24 February 2020, aged 83. He created some of the favorite stories and animated television shows of Hungarian children, such classics as Süsü, a sárkány (Süsü, the dragon), Pom Pom meséi (Pom Pom's Stories), Mirr-Murr, a kandúr (Mirr-murr, the tom-cat), A nagy hohoho-horgász (The Great Ang-ang-ang-angler) and many more.

March 2, 2020

Visit to the Finnish capital

Vice-President Miklós Marosi and Attila Turi, chair of Section of Architecture travelled to Helsinki between 29 January and 1 February 2020 representing HAA with Patricia Keszler, international rapporteur to open a tableau exhibition of the Section of Architecture of HAA entitled Hungarian Mosaic. The exhibition is open for visitors for six weeks at the Hungarian Cultural and Scientific Centre in Helsinki.

March 2, 2020

Life Achievement Award for Györgyi Szalai and István Dárday

The Budapest International Documentary Festival (BIDF) took place between 27 January and 2 February for the 6th time. The festival and competition for the latest internationally successful documentaries attracted more interest than ever before. Györgyi Szalai and István Dárday film directors and regular members of HAA received the festival's lifetime achievement awards, and the event has been supported by the HAA as well.

March 2, 2020

László Kovács and Vilmos Zsigmond Cinematography Awards

The László Kovács and Vilmos Zsigmond Cinematography Awards were handed over for the third time at Vigadó, the centre of HAA on 7 February 2020. The event was attended by the eleven leading members of IMAGO, the International Federation of Cinematographers. Besides several other awards, the lifetime achievement awards were given to Tibor Máthé (a corresponding member of HAA), Nyika Jancsó, András Szalai as well as Miklós Hajdú. The competition award has been founded by Sparks camera and Lamp rental company, the Hungarian Society of Cinematographers and the Hungarian Cinematographers' School under the name of the two late legends. 

March 2, 2020
First Last